HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Confessions of a current (Americorps) City Year Corps Member
Posted by: ConservativeConvert ()
Date: April 04, 2013 08:01PM

Hi FFXU. I wanted to share with you my reasons for coming here and telling you guys my story (and hopefully get some advice)

As the title states, I am serving for a year in an Americorps program called City Year. I work in a school in SE Washington DC. I joined because I did like the idea of the program; I wanted to see about teaching but didn't want as long a commitment as TFA, so City Year seemed like TFA lite. I was struggling with some personal feelings about poor and underprivileged schools and the people in them, but I thought that this year would help me to open up and appreciate all people of all colors, incomes, and backgrounds. How wrong I was. But that was my first mistake, hoping that this could help expand my mind. The second one was the choice in program: Americorps and specifically City Year is the creepiest, most indoctrinating, left-wing bullshit organization that makes my stomach turn.

Before we go much farther, I will admit I went into this year as a pretty strong social and fiscal liberal, but my experiences have drastically changed my mind on MANY fronts. I still believe in some liberal things, but I would say I've turned around maybe 160 degrees. Please don't focus on that too much (I'll answer questions if you want, but I just wanted to share my story with you) because the shit I learned about CY/Americorps is ridiculous.